The mission of the PWC CT’s Awards Committee is to encourage A/E/C professionals to recognize the success, professionalism and career growth of their colleagues. We believe that hard work and dedication to our Chapter and the industry should be acknowledged and promoted. Every year we are proud to honor at least 4 individuals with the following awards: Women of Achievement, Rising Star, Excellence in Mentoring and Chapter Volunteer of the Year. We invite you to continue reading and learn more about our awards program.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2020 PWC CT awards. Please click the pdfs below to view the nomination applications.

PWC Excellence in Mentoring Award

PWC Rising Star Award

PWC Woman of Achievement

Volunteer of the Year Award Submission 2020

For more information contact Awards Committee Chair, Kim Colapietro, or any member of the committee:

Chair – Kim Colapietro, EDI Landscape
Patty Bilotto, Panolam Surface Systems
Ruth Durcharme, Shawmut
Betty Horne, Red Thread
Dawn Meeker, Marcum, LLP

The Woman of Achievement Award

2019-2020 Honoree: Laura Cruickshank, FAIA, University of Connecticut’s Master Planner and Chief Architect and Association Vice President for University Planning, Design & Construction

Learn more about Laura Here.

The “Woman of Achievement” award is given annually to a candidate who has at least 15 years of experience in the industry, has demonstrably achieved excellence in her field, is dedicated to the advancement of women in the A/E/C field, and serves as a good role model.

The Rising Star Award

2019-2020 Honoree: Kyma Ganzer, Project Manager, LaRosa Building Group

Learn more about Kyma Here.

The “Rising Star” award is intended to honor exceptional women in the A/E/C industry who are recognized by their colleagues, mentors and peers as future leaders in the industry. The focus is on women who are identified as “rising stars” as opposed to women who have already achieved success or reached the apex of their careers. The honorees are women who are directly responsible for architecture, engineering and/or construction and who will someday take their place among the construction chiefs in our region. The “Rising Star” award is given annually to a candidate who has less than 7 years’ experience in the industry, and demonstrates — through her dedication, her work and her attitude — the capacity to attain the highest levels in her field.

The Excellence in Mentoring Award

2019-2020 Honoree: Tracy Cassie, Project Architect and Senior Associate, S/L/A/M Collaborative

Learn more about Tracy Here.

Mentorship is one of the most important leadership roles in the A/E/C industry. However, mentors are frequently overlooked and rarely rewarded. The Excellence in Mentoring Award was created to acknowledge an outstanding man or woman who has been a positive role model for women in our industry. Mentors from any industry discipline (architecture, engineering, construction, industry teachers, lawyers and industry marketing professionals) are eligible for this award.

The “Excellence in Mentoring” award is given annually to a woman or man who has been a positive role model for women in the A/E/C industry, has sustained a career commitment to mentoring and has had a positive effect on mentees.

Volunteers of the Year

2019-2020 Honoree: Carolyn Kurth, CPA, CFE, Director, CohnReznick Advisory

Learn more about Carolyn Here.

2019-2020 Honoree: Susan Labas, CPSM, Senior Associate and Director of Marketing, van Zelm Engineers

Volunteers are the cornerstone of our organization and are vital to our success now and in the future. The Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding volunteers for their valuable and selfless commitment to innovation, dedication, contribution to the success of this chapter and our industry as a whole.


Kim Colapietro